Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Useful Links & Information

Local Government Overview

County, District, or Parish?

There are three tiers of local Government serving residents in Cumbria.
The definitive ward map for the three tiers can be found here.
Those affecting Alston Moor are:

Cumbria County Council

The County Council, based in Carlisle is the highest tier below National Government. The Council’s duties and services are managed by the 84 elected Councillors. Its responsibilities include:
    • Education
    • Social Services
    • Fire Brigade
    • Emergency Planning
    • Highways & Road Safety
    • Rights of Way
    • The Environment, Waste Disposal & Mineral Sites
    • Libraries & Museums
    • Registering Births, Deaths, Marriages and Civil Partnerships
Visit Cumbria County Council Website –
Below the county Council are six district councils: Allerdale, Barrow in Furness, Carlisle, Copeland, Eden and South Lakeland.

Eden District Council

The District Council, based in Penrith, has 38 elected Councillors representing 30 electoral wards. Its responsibilities include:
    • Building Regulations
    • Car Parks
    • Cemeteries
    • Council Tax & Council Tax Benefit
    • Social Housing & Housing Benefits
    • Economic Development
    • Elections
    • Food Safety & Hygiene
    • Footway Lighting
    • Licensing
    • Local Plans & Planning Applications
    • Markets
    • Pest Control
    • Refuse Collection
    • Sports Centres
    • Street Cleaning
    • Tree Preservation
Visit Eden District Council Website –